Outside the marginals

a commentary on the politics that followed the UK 2010 & 2015 elections

Purpose of this blog

Living in a UK constituency which is not a marginal, my vote in the 2010 General Election will have no effect.

If I vote conservative, I will not elect more conservative MPs (my constituency is already Tory). Likewise voting Labour or Liberal Democrat will make no different because for this seat to change hands requires a seismic change greater than any since the last World War. It is not going to happen.  To the parties, I don’t count, my views don’t count, and my vote doesn’t count.

So do I ignore the election (as the parties will surely ignore me – I am not relevant to them), or do I try and challenge myself to engage in some way?

I have chosen to do the latter; and have chosen this blog as the way to try and do it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

